Decanto is a small magazine which generally publishes lyrical poems, sometimes with a slightly mystical, new age feel. Not to everyone’s taste, therefore, and such poems are liable to trade on lyric cliches or “poetic” language, which often mars what might otherwise be a promising piece (and I know, because I’ve written such things: thinking I’m in touch with a lyric truth and finding that I’ll I’ve written about is golden sunshine on shy snowdrops).

However, the better poems sometimes have a personal voice, or describe some moment in a relationship, or touch some natural beauty which represents a true feeling. There can be diamonds amongst the glass. Anyway, editor Lisa Stewart obviously has good taste, because Decanto has just accepted two poems of mine: Fairytale and Shore to Shore.

